Using wood for restoration of vintage and coachbuilt cars

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using wood for restoration of vintage and coachbuilt cars

I have volunteered to give a seminar at a wood working group that I have been attending for about two years. many of the members give these seminars to share their prowess with making furniture, cabinets, etc., etc. I felt compelled to do my share of the work, but lacking any actual wood working 'prowess', all I could think of that I used wood for was in the tools that are used by metal shapers, namely hammers, hammer forms, stumps, bucks and so forth. In this and upcoming posts, I want to share my thinking in the hopes that others may increase my knowledge based on their own experiences. The seminar is not until February of next year. I have accumulated a LOT of pictures for the presentation and will post some of them. As a result of this endeavor, I have gotten more interested in making some of my own tools as I learn more about wood characteristics, and that has led to me starting with this post. I am prone to use SolidWorks 3D software to work out my thoughts and have a water jet man that is VERY good to me. This post shows my thinking about some hammers and corking tools that I have drawn and had cut at the water jet place. My intent is to not use these for heavy pounding on the stump and bag with a blocking hammer, but to use in learning more about metal finishing. I wanted to learn about wood 'hardness' and found that the specific gravity, density, weight and hardness are RELATIVELY related to each other, so I decide to use the Janka method (developed in the early 1930's to measures the resistance of a sample of wood to denting and wear.) to decide what type of wood to seek based on local availability. The Janka method applies a load to a .444" diameter ball and measures the force needed to imbed that ball halfway into the wood. Hear are some of the forms that I uncovered. I apologize for the