Door design

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Door design

As many of you know I am a beginner undertaking a fairly ambitious build of a 550 Spyder. It is not a true replica. So long as the average car enthusiast can see what it is I will be happy. So I can take a few liberties. One of the areas I am trying to work out is the door design.
    Both the original and my car will have rather shallow doors with large/deep sills. The skin of the door needs to come a long way over the top of the door and will sit very close to the occupant's outside shoulder. For this reason I want to avoid having a sharp 90 edge to thin inside of the door skin.
    I want to curve the skin under itself based on a 1inch pipe (1/2 inch radius).
    There will be a fairly traditional door frame and the skin will attach in the usual way. That is tipping the edge of the skin all the way around and clamping the skin over the edge of the door frame.
    But that method requires access to the edge to hammer the skin down. That will work fine all the way around until I get to the 1 inch curve and it turns back on itself.
    I have a few ideas but non of them are ideal.
    I am fairly sure (unless someone has a better idea) The edge of the skin will proceed as normal up to the top but needs to be out of the way once it gets to the horizontal plane on top of the door. That way I can still get the hammer to the inside of the edge to secure the skin. The attached sketch is not to scale. But the area I am talking about is where the question mark is pointing. If the edge of the skin wraps around past the dark mark then it will be in the way when trying to secure the top of the skin.