Shop equipment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shop equipment

Hello all, wanted to ask opinions on first time buying shop equipment as far as English wheel, planishing hammer, finger brake, shear. Etc. I am a hobbyist at best, I’ve taken one of peters classes when he was in Tennessee, and another gentleman’s class up near Chicago.
    My question is are there any brands to lean towards for entry level/hobbyist equipment? I try not to step foot into harbor freight but maybe Woodward fab, Jet, bailiegh,? Any not top of the line brands that would be good for someone like myself to start out on? Thanks for any inputs.

For here in the U.K. I would think l would buy 2nd vintage equipment for homework....

but Peter would have taught you all you need is a Wooden stump and some assortments of good quality hammers.

l think l would make a very strong framed ( plus filled with sand ) Wheeling machine . Or Save up for Peter,s lovely Cast one / P hammer.😎
    Last edited by Moving molecules .; 05-01-21, 10:31 AM.
    https://www.precisionpanelcraft.co.uk/

Comment

i would say by the best you can afford, i know that's a fairly obvious thing to say but if you have the money to buy a fabricated frame wheel and a box pan folder (finger brake) at the same time then i would suggest using the money to buy a better wheel. i have a fabricated frame wheel, it's ok....ish. with a little experience you can get some shapes out of it, but it's not as quick or as good as a cast frame.

good quality tools are always worth more if you had to sell them on at a later date
      thanks neil

Comment