Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Using wood for vintage car and coach built car restorations.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using wood for vintage car and coach built car restorations.

I have been attending a woodworking club meeting for almost two years and have not been able to contribute much as I have limited wood working skills. I have decided to try and put on a seminar revolving around using wood as 1) Tools and 2) body sub structures. Concerning tools: I figure on discussing choosing wood for stumps, hammers/handles. corking tools, bucks, hammer forms, etc. Concerning body 'components, I plan on sharing photos from Jim Hery's projects, some assorted pics that I have taken and I restored a Model A Panel Delivery truck that had quite a bit of wood in it. I have already made a 'test run' at the recent Redneck Roundup and that pointed out that I need to do more work! I plan to present it once more before a Model A club before I share it with the wood group.

What I am posting about with this post is that I would like to ask for any input that you more qualified metal shapers might add to my current information base so that I could include it in my presentation.
    I am working now on choosing and preparing the traditional wood stump. What type of wood, how to 'seal', trim the edges, etc. What is the purpose of the metal ring around the upper edges? Any other tips or trick gentlemen?