Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ntroduction from The Netherlands

Hi,

My name is Johnmar, IT engineer by profession. Years ago (1996) I started with some work on an mini 1275 (A car some of you will call a mini cooper). With an automotive manual I was able to keep the car running as my daily driver. Had to learn how to weld (as mini's are really prone to the dreaded tinworm. And then it all started with some repair panels. That was something completely different (as my father is a carpenter and hates everything metal related) than I was used to work with. Loved it and went overboard in the metal department and was able buy and old Myford 7 Lathe from a friend. I helped som friends with sheet metal work (all mini related) and they said I was a natural. (well to be honest, I did not share their enthausiams on my level metalshaping, but they where impressed and I learned with every panel and loved learning new skills). A new chapter of metal working was about to start, but then I had to move houses, changed jobs and live took over. Until last year when I made the desicion to stop doing what I was doing (on several fields) and turned my atention to the mini again (no in a terrible state). I

A bare metal rebuild is in order, but as I always wanted to alter some panels to my own idea, I rekindled my fire for metalshaping. After digging up my books in metalshaping (from Ron Fournier and Timothy Remus) I went to internet and was amazed what I found on youtube from Lazze, Wray Schelin and other great metal shapers. Looked at the video's, searched online and followed new names (for me) . Just bought the book "Learning the English Wheel" (great book by William Longyard after I'd booked a training with Geoff Ross (in Cornwall).

And that is where I'm now: looking forward to receive training by a very respected panelshaper.

I'll share my plans after my return from Cornwall with this group.

Until then,

Regards,

Johnmar