Putnam Machine Co line shaft metal lathe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Putnam Machine Co line shaft metal lathe

I've been trying to find a good metal lathe for quite a while. A smaller Sheldon bench top lathe and Wells Index milling machine remain within reach & are in the works, but that simply hasn't happened. I have little lathe experience and want something to get started without spending $1500-$2k just to make some simple things on an overpriced little or really hammered bigger lathe. I also like old equipment with details like interesting cast iron. Here in poor-rural SC, such things aren't as common as in more industrial-oriented regions of the country,

On Friday, this apparently pre-1893 (based upon lack of the common 1892 patent date included on the nameplate) Putnam Machine Co. line shaft metal lathe was posted on Craigslist for $450 about 10 min from here. 220 single phase motor but I've got a couple of similar brand new 3 phase motors that might be swapped in when there's a vfd to go with it. Seems to be in pretty decent shape and quite complete with a big stack of gears in one toolbox plus more tooling, equipment and chucks in the other. Ways are pretty good, its at least 12" swing and at least 36" if not 40" of usable bed.

Called as soon as I saw the ad. Brought it home Sat morning, along with another truck and trailer load of free stuff from a cleanout that should pay for it. We took it off the truck this afternoon so I can work on cleaning it up and reworking the wonky top pulley & motor mount. It's nice and greasy so there's little rust. No plans to restore it, just clean it very well with kerosene and get it in the shop. It should fit right in around here in my behind-the-times kinda world.

Thought some here might enjoy seeing my new old machine, destined to make some tooling for my Metalshaping work. Only have one pic right now, probably will have more later.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	104